A Personal Taxonomy for Online Learning

There is no step one or sequence to my taxonomy:

* Embrace procrastination – but set a time limit.

* Cut up lists into smaller tasks – do one item (completely) at a time, no exceptions.

* Feel frustrated and angry – yell, scream, lose marbles (while walking to the mailbox – where no one can hear!). Then get over it, let it go, move on.

* Find a place for everything, even if it’s the bin – throw out anything that isn’t useful but keep sanity, it might be handy at some point.

* Exercise – back up to the mailbox.

* Try future hindsight – eg: “this time next year I will look back on now and wonder what I was so worried about…”

* Write thought bubbles down – immediately, ramble onto paper instead of unsuspecting check-out chicks.

* Practice gratitude – every day.

* Listen to music – 80s for housework, 90’s for driving, 00’s for gardening, 10’s for walking.

* Prioritise – Get the important stuff done first.

* Have something fun planned – to look forward to, once the ‘work’ is done.

* Boast – “look what I got done today…”

2 thoughts on “A Personal Taxonomy for Online Learning

  1. I absolutely agree with your step “embrace procrastination – but set a time limit.”. I usually embrace procrastination, but fail to set a time limit and find myself getting no where, fast.

    Like

    • Too true. I often set a time limit, then give myself extensions! Procrastination is a bit like an itch that has to be scratched. I was listening to the radio today and they were discussing the merits of boredom. It really made me think about how much boredom and procrastination can provide a much needed break for reconsidering the bigger picture of a project.

      Like

Leave a comment